The Power of Words

The Power of Words

I watched a powerful video this week about the power of words.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hzgzim5m7oU&feature=share

As a child, I remember reading the book, “The Princess Bride.” I loved that book and read it several times.  I had it all visualized in my head of what the princess would look like and all of the characters. Then, the movie came out. It wasn’t what I had visualized and not what I expected. A lot of my friends, who hadn’t read the book, loved the movie. It took me time to learn to appreciate the way someone else interpreted the book. I eventually did grow to love the movie and over time I have lost the vision of how I had imagined it. This has happened to most of us – we have a vision and someone else creates something different. Which is why words are so powerful, they create your reality of what you are reading.

On the other hand, it can be great to see another’s interpretation.   As in my example above, the disconnect between your own reading and imagining and then actually seeing another’s can be very different. Most good marketing people understand this – they know that videos and visuals can give you a dose of “reality”, although it is their vision. What is better than videos? Experiencing it for yourself, feeling the feelings, walking in another’s footsteps, living in their reality – being in the moment.

Visiting Guatemala became a new reality for me. I had seen pictures, watched videos, heard and read stories, but walking there, experiencing it, that is when it became real. I could feel the pride they had in keeping their dirt floors clean, their hand planted crops in perfect rows and their few worldly possessions kept neat. I could empathize with the hope they had for their children for a better future. I came to know of their love for God and their gratefulness for everything that they had.  During the trip, I was talking to one of our board members who has been involved with Mentors for a while now, but this was her first trip. She said, “You just don’t get it until you are here and meet the people. You see the pride in their eyes and the gratefulness in their hearts.” I agree whole heartedly. And although I see differently now, I am scared of losing that vision in my head, of coming back and settling into my world – comfortable with my nice clothes, my car that will take me anywhere I want to go, and not remembering the gratitude, the humbleness and their reality.

In the coming weeks, I will be sharing new video of our trip to Guatemala. I hope that it gives you a glimpse into their world. If it encourages you to learn more about our organization, all the better, and I will be happy to answer any questions you may have. If you want o experience for yourself their reality and not rely on my interpretation, and you want to join us on an upcoming trip then please contact me.  

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment